
Automobile Club De France 1899
1899
Daude Freres was a French Impressionist and lithographer, but little else is known about him. The poster Freres created here, nicely links the Automobile Club de France to a heroic winged female figure with an anvil and hammer and various automobile parts scattered at her feet. The historical lure of this female figure nicely anchors the Automobile Club de France in its own prestigious historical value however, there is a certain irony in using a female figure to personify an all-male club. The Automobile Club of France (ACF) is a men’s club founded on 12 November 1895 by Albert de Dion, Paul Meyan, Edmond Récopé and Étienne van Zuylen van Nyevelt. It is the world’s first Automobile Club and was initially located in a villa in the Bois de Boulogne but in 1898 it moved to Place de la Concorde, where it still exists to this day. The Club offers its members several lounges, a swimming pool, a gym, a library containing more than 50,000 references, a movie theatre, a hair salon, a travel agency, bars and dining rooms. Numerous activities are also offered at the club and it boasts a private, male membership of about 2,200 members. Female members are not accepted to the club but female guests and wives are welcome in the club by invitation only. The origins of the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the French Grand Prix can be found in the actions of the Club as well as the hosting of the Exposition International d’Automobiles (in this case the 2nd edition). Printing House J. Barreau, 16 Rue Littré, Paris


